The End of Writer’s Block

Recently, I’ve felt like I’ve been unable to write anything at all. I keep sitting down to write a blog post, but always end up retreating. It feels like too much of a daunting task to sit down and just write. However, I’ve decided that now is the time to get back on the horse and start typing again!

To put it bluntly, depression has been getting in my way for a while. Something to remember about depression: it seems to appear from no where, then, before you know it, you’re stuck. Stuck in this void with no obvious way out.

You know that there’s reasons to wake up and shower (and other mundane tasks which suddenly feel impossible to achieve) but you just can’t make sense of them. Suddenly, everything feels incredibly distant to you. Everything weighs heavily on you.

There’s been a lot going on in my life at the moment:

  1. I’ve been given hearing aids. For all you wondering, I have mild hearing loss. Adjusting to being able to hear all these new sounds is quite frustrating. I mean, you can probably imagine not being able to hear properly, then all at once, there are ALL these sounds!
  2. It’s the second semester of third (and final year), and try as I might, I can’t help but feel like I’m constantly drowning in work. Finding the right balance between work and play doesn’t feel possible.

So, all in all, I’m getting there. I know there will still be days that feel like thunderstorms, but there will also be days that don’t.

I have found that the act of self-love/(aka looking after yourself/treating yourself nicely when you don’t feel like it) is not one single action, but a continuous effort to be kind to yourself. (Which is something I continue to struggle with.) But, I’m setting myself a few goals:

  1. Update this blog more frequently!!!! It’s only scary until you do it.
  2. Practice self-love (especially when I don’t feel like it).

And, on that note, I’ll leave you with this:

inspo

 

 

4 thoughts on “The End of Writer’s Block

  1. This was a brilliant post and for a good part of it, it’s as if I were reading my own thoughts or opinions. Depression does sneak up on you, I hate that. But, when we do conquer it with positive thinking or when it goes away temporarily, it’s an amazing feeling.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment